March Madness is in full swing! Following an exciting “Sweet 16,” we understand that you’re probably locked into the basketball action and focused on your brackets! Our own Brian Phillips sure is – his alma mater, South Carolina, advanced to the Final 4 in both the men’s and women’s tournaments! However, we realize there’s another “Sweet 16” that’s even more important – when your fledgling teen driver-to-be is ready to hit the road.
First things first: your child must obtain a North Carolina Driver Education Learner Permit. To do this, the applicant must:
- be at least 15 years of age at time of issuance;
- provide proof of identity and date of birth;
- show proof of enrollment in a DMV-approved driver education program by surrendering the certificate of driver education form (CDE) provided by the school, properly filled out and dated no sooner than three weeks prior to the start of class;
- successfully pass the standard vision screening test.
We get asked this a lot but you’ll be happy to know – liability insurance is NOT required for your teen during the learner permit phase. Why pay extra until you have to, right?
Soon your teen will be an expert (or so they think) and it will be time to move on to the big leagues. The applicant is eligible for an operator license upon:
- One year of driving under a driving permit
- And being at least 16 years of age;
- Providing proof of identity and date of birth;
- Successfully passing a standard vision screening test;
- Successfully passing a sign test, a written test and a driving test.
This is where we come in! Your child WILL need proof of liability insurance to take the driving test – this is known as the DL-123 form and it is provided by us here at Brown-Phillips. The form is only valid for 30 days so there is no need to add your child to your policy too far in advance – we can make the addition and send the form in a matter of minutes. Just give us a call the day before your child is scheduled for the test.
As you are probably well aware, adding an inexperienced driver to your policy is not cheap, but it is the law, so get your money’s worth and make sure your teen is trained as much as possible before they hit the road. We’ll be here to get you the best rates possible – fill out your quote request online or call us at 919-874-0405.